Burgers, Fries, Hot Dogs One Dollar!!!

20 Nov
French fries

Yesterday I was walking around Times Square, bombarded with leaf-letters, street hollers, food carts, people, an air of frenzy, etc…  I usually stay  very focused on the side-walk in front of me and blank everything else out since I want to make sure not to step in unexpected piles of dog crap.  But my ear did perk up when I heard a man standing infront of a “gyro” shop handing out fliers and saying, “Hamburgers: One Dollar, French Fries: One Dollar, Hot Dogs: One Dollar!”  I said, What?!  How can they all possible cost the same price?  Doesn’t that show how skewed our food system is when a hamburger; presumable the flesh of a cow, a bun, condiments, maybe some lettuce, tomato, and onion cost one dollar and an order of fries is also one dollar.  Now either french fries are ridiculously over-priced or more likely the hamburger and hot dog alike are extremely subsidized, highly manufactured and under-priced, and the true cost is a hidden one.

Oh and my fear of stepping in dog crap is a real one, just a few minutes later I was in a crowd watching some break-dancers and suddenly the crowd opened up and in the empty place where people had been standing there was a center pile of dog crap…with an attempted cover-up of newspapers and tons of little feet prints spiraling out from the source.

One Response to “Burgers, Fries, Hot Dogs One Dollar!!!”

  1. Lauren November 20, 2011 at 9:05 pm #

    NYC seems to have dog poop just as towns and cities have a collection of dog poop on the street. Grrr. And the aroma is always so nice too.

    Wow. A hamburger for a $1 from st cart, never seen that before?!

    I’ve been thinking a lot about the cost of food while in Spain as food prices are lower (especially where I’m living) and in a few Andalusian ciites, including Almeria, it’s customary when you order a beverage (typically alcoholic), it comes with a tapa. The tapa is usually with meat. I wonder, how do restaurants make money? Is the cost of raising animals cheaper here? The cost of living (in my town) appears less than California and NY but there has to be a cost to the food, especially meat.

    This is an unanswered question I’ll hopefully figure out by the end of my year here.

Leave a Reply

