How to Get Rid of Fruit Flies

19 Oct

Make a fruit fly trap!

Ingredients:

  • Honey or sugar (about a tsp)
  • Vinegar (I use apple cider or red wine)
  • A dab of soap (just enough to make bubbles when you pour water in)
  • A vessel
  • Water
Mix everything together and fill up a vessel (an old jar or something, preferably see-through so you can watch them drop).  Works every time within a few minutes to a few hours. Make sure you don’t fill the jar so full that they can land on the side and drink without having to actually go into the jar.  At the point they enter to take a drink the soap bubbles trap them in and they drown, no more fruit flies bugging you in the kitchen.
7 Responses to “How to Get Rid of Fruit Flies”

  1. michaelwtwitty October 19, 2011 at 7:07 am #

    Ahhh! This is just what I’ve been needing to read–a good recipe–I’ve kind of just trapped them by default…LOL–the fun part is that vinegar is better than honey–despite the old saying 🙂 Stop by my blog sometime (Afroculinaria here on WordPress) Very nice work all around 🙂 Keep it up–I love learning from great teachers!

    • kiracohenmilo October 20, 2011 at 3:07 am #

      Thank you Michael…I’m on my way to Afroculinaria now…..

  2. A Culinary Converter October 19, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

    beer works well too. beer and a few drops of dish soap.

  3. China Millman October 19, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Wine works too – and even a really small container will actually trap a lot of fruit flies! To keep from getting them in the first place, I have had good success with this tip from Melissa Clark: http://www.melissaclark.net/blog/2011/08/kitchen-hip-tip-cover-your-fruit.html

  4. Anonymous October 19, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    It’s like you knew exactly what I have been needing!

  5. Lia October 19, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    How did you know I needed this?! You are telepathic…

  6. kiracohenmilo October 20, 2011 at 3:05 am #

    I guess I just had a feeling after looking at my own kitchen, full of flies!

Leave a Reply

