Crafty Cooking in the Kitchen

23 Sep

Sometimes I get a hankering for food late at night, and obviously throughout the day too.  Most of the time, especially when it’s 1am like last night, I like to look through my cabinets and see what the ingredients I have on hand will allow me to make.  It’s a fun challenge and extremely satisfying when you have success.  It’s provision based cooking, in this case baking.  I looked through the fridge and freezer (where my flower and flax is kept to keep it from going rancid) and found chocolate chips and a banana and knew I was about to embark on some kind of banana bread.  No eggs or butter though in the apartment, so I threw in a bit of olive oil and in place of applesauce (that often replaces olive oil) I used some peaches I had canned over the summer.  To make it a bit healthier I cut down my flour and added rolled oats and ground flax seed.  It turned out great!
I’ll share the make-shift recipe, but I hope from reading this you’ve gotten a little inkling and inspiration to play around in the kitchen just like I use to when I was a little girl making witches brew stew in the back yard with everything that was rotting and found in my sandbox.  See how I’ve progressed!

Banana-Peach-Chocolate chip Bread


1 cup whole wheat flour (Massa Organic flower in this case from a local farmer)
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/4 cup something sweet (either brown sugar or honey, or white sugar if that’s all you have)
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground cloves
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 Tbsp oil of some kind (canola, butter,olive..etc)
1 super ripe banana
1/4 cup applesauce/smashed canned peaches (if you don’t have this, add more milk or oil to the recipe, you need more “wet” if you take this part out)
1/8 cup soy milk
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract (I also didn’t have this, most baked goods call for it, it adds a nice flavor, you can put in Kahlula instead, or in my case I put in a very dark honey from Marshall’s farm that has a taste of rum to it).1/2 cup chocolate chips (or raisons or nuts, or nothing, whatever you want!)

1. That’s it! Mix all the dry goods together first. Then the “wet” ones, smashing the banana into the consistency of baby food.  And then mix the dry and wet together.  Turn in the nuts/raison/chocolate chips at the end.  Preheat oven to 350F and bake in a small dish (this is one loaf of bread) for 25-35 minutes. 

Leave a Reply

